June 28, 2006

  • Who, What, Where, When, and How

     

    When did I start blogging?

    The official start dates for my two sites are March 2003 (blogspot) and September 2004 (xanga).  So, I’m still pretty young.  I think it is not inaccurate to say that I first started blogging before it was a word.  In 1989, we subscribed to Prodigy Internet Service and I remember posting on the public bulletin boards way back then. There’s a good story in that.

     

    How did I start blogging?

    More specifically, sometime in 2000, my interest was piqued over theological issues being discussed on various blogs, e-zines, and newsletters. I was fascinated. Even way back in1989, I think the subject matter of the Prodigy bulletin boards where I posted was theology/evangelism. So, I read/lurked a lot, before jumping into the fray.  Even today, I read more than I write; and I wonder myself why I read the sites I do.

     

    What was I thinking when I started my blog?

    Good question, because thinking has always gotten me into trouble.  lol  Seriously, though, three ideas, at least, were rolling around in my head: 1) an interest in learning more about the computer (hardware and software); 2)keeping up with the ordinary news without subscribing to a paper (read no cable TV)and keeping in touch with a collegian in another state 3)and journaling, i.e. organizing my thoughts/daily life, like planting bulbs and seeing if they would bloom (see one of my first blogspot entries.)

     

    Where was I when I started blogging?

    Same place I am now…in my unfinished basement, at a messy desk, surrounded by stacks of my favorite books, albums, and stuff.  Right there amongst all those germs defiling the sterile field, I completed the birthing my blog.  I named her!  HiddenArt.  I continue to be happy with that succinct description and to be challenged by the author who coined it.

     

    Who inspires me to blog?

    Me, myself, and I.  Sounds pretty selfish, which I am,  but it’s probably only partly true because I do enjoy reading about others who make me think. My sidebar doesn’t even come close to revealing whom I read.  But back to my inspiration, I am a little bit of a zealot, not a fanatic, and not a martyr, searching for some purity, and I DO have an opinion.

     

    Do you have a question?

     

     

     

     

Comments (1)

  • I’m glad you’re blogging. I enjoy reading them. I’m trying to think of a question, but the mind’s rusty this morning.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *