September 22, 2007

  • Ten Lies Ten Truths

    Lying figures prominently in the story of The Fall in Genesis 3. Call it “twisting the truth,” “misrepresenting the facts,” or “creative thinking,” the outcome is the same. Eve bit into the Devil’s scheme and we are forever paying the consequences. The account is short - a mere 6 or 7 verses - but the storytelling is effective and useful for teaching, rebuking, corrective, and training - if I may borrow a Scriptural phrase.

    Parker Hudson uses the same format in his book, Ten Lies Ten Truths: Stories Illuminating America Today.  Each of ten chapters tells a story or parable in which one side of the story is presented (the lie) and then the other (the Truth) is woven through to deconstruct the error(s). Current controversial issues like evolution, abortion, marriage, polytheism are addressed and force the reader into questioning what he knows or what he thinks he knows.

    This easy-to-read book would make an ideal text for a high school ethics class or Sunday school topic. Mr. Hudson is an evangelical Christian who gives substantive data for sorting out these present day dilemmas. I highly recommend this book and his others, The President and On the Edge.

    Learn more about him at his website.

     

Comments (2)

  • This sounds like an excellent book to train our young in Critical Thinking Skills. I shall have to check into it further for my sons.

    I came over from "Sat. Review of Books" but I recognize you from Magistramater's blog.

  • I have read _The President_ (and I think I have a copy of it for sale somewhere). The next few months will be a good time to re-read that one again. Your book sounds really interesting!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment