March 7, 2008

  • Fine Art Friday:Vermeer

    vermeerladywriting

    Lady Writing a Letter                                          by Johannes Ver Meer
    Oil on Canvas 17 3/4 x 15 3/4                                 1665 – 1666

    Sifting through the daily mail, I do single out first class mail, especially that which is hand addressed.  The contents are usually special. I think of letters as gifts.  And they can be artistic.  Some are worth saving or framing.  On my blog I posted one of my most prized letters.

    Vermeer’s genre painting is a convenient way to highlight the *Power of the Letter Campaign* being promoted by the United States Postal Service.  And just yesterday I received a hand-written note from a niece with the special postmark.  It was a dear thank-you note! 

    Starting Sunday March 16th HBO is airing a mini-series about John Adams.  Much of the information is gathered from Adams’ letters.  It would be entertaining to watch the HBO series based on John McCullough’s book, just like I’ve enjoyed the Masterpiece Theater series on Jane Austen’s novels.  But HBO is not one of the 200 channels we receive with our satellite subscription. Wouldn’t ya know?

    Not to worry,  I can w.a.i.t.  There’s plenty of time to rent DVD collection or (gasp) actually READ McCullough’s book itself.  I’m not unfamiliar with the Adamses.   Those Who Love by Irving Stone is the first book I read about Abigail and John Adams.  When I was in college I took a senior history seminar on the Adams Family taught by Russell Kirk.  We read John, Charles, Henry, et al Adams.   I eshewed writing the requisite paper on one of the *guys* and focused on Abigail.   Dr. Kirk was complimentary of my choice :)    

    At any rate, as the Power of the Letter campaign states, *letters offer a window to the past*  and I love learning about the past.  So, you will not be surprised to know that on my nightstand is another book of letters: The Mitfords:  Letters Between Six Sisters.    It’s a neat way to learn more about the 20th century.

    There is no end to the combinations of fine art and letter writing.  At the Booth Museum near me, there is a fine exhibit of Presidential Portraits and Letters.  They are all interesting, but I was particularly drawn to the one of and by Harry Truman.  In an annivesary letter to his wife, he listed where and what they had been doing each year.  Such a simple idea.  But I tried to do it.  It’s not that easy.  I’m going to have to spend more time and do a little more research (digging) in order to be able to present that gift.

    Be artistic today.

    Write a letter.

    Give a gift.

     

     

Comments (6)

  • The postmark caught my eye, and I was excited about the series, until I realized it was HBO. Oh well. I love hand written notes. I am writing my disabled sister a letter every week (well, trying) in my own writing, which, I might add, isn’t very good. My parents both had excellent penmanship.

    Perfect pairing of Fine Art Friday and an interesting topic, Dana.

  • So, Carol, sounds like neither of us will be watching the Adams series.  But that’s ok ’cause we’re *readers*

    However, I do appreciate film from a teaching perspective.  For example, having students watch a movie based on one of Shakespeare’s play is a good starting point.   Worked for me.

    Plus this DVD set might make a good gift.

  • Oh!  and writing your sister each week?  What.a.treasure!!!

  • I am a terrible letter writer, and even worse at finding stamps and putting them on the envelopes and putting them in the mailbox! Laura D. in Alabama is a beautiful letter writer, to which I can attest. Her letters are newsy and interesting. I’ll bet she can knit a sweater while she’s writing them .

    I haven’t read the Adamses books, either Dana, but I would like to and will dig them out to remind me to do so, including the life of Henry Adams, which is supposed to be very good. Vision Forum also sells a book called _The Bible Lessons of John Quincy Adams for His Son_ which looks good, and is half price right now. This book of letters between Abigail and John looks good, too.

    You and Carol are on the same wavelength with your thoughts about letter writers!

  • Love you linking to these older posts and there are The Mitfords whom I just read about. I wonder how biographies will be written in the future without the letter trail?

  • @Dominionfamily - That Mitford (6 sisters) book is within arm’s reach.  I think I read some of it tonight.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *