Month: January 2012

  • The Iron Lady

    1999-02 - Margaret Thatcher Admiring both the British politician and the American actress, I made haste to see the newly released film, The Iron Lady.

    You should too!

    Baroness Thatcher is living courageously in her final years, continuing to break barriers (the movie makes very public the heart and mind of a prominent yet aging lady);

    and always acknowledging duty (promoting freedom and liberty well after her political career ended).

    That’s how I had the privilege to meet her.

    First, in person.

    In February 1999, my alma mater, Hillsdale College, hosted an event here in Atlanta, where I had the chance to meet Lady Thatcher (along with my parents who are in the photo above).  Notice that Mrs. Thatcher is holding my mother’s hand.  happy

    Here’s the link to her speech The Challenge of Educating for 21st Century Citizenship via Imprimis’s Archive (scroll down – it is after Forbes’).

    Then on screen.

    The Iron Lady is a worthy heroine.  

    In light of our current presidential primaries, I relish the chance to revisit her political views and accomplishments.  They might open the eyes of some young American voters.

    During the movie, I so wanted to take notes and write down pertinent quotes like *Economics is akin managing your household*.

    But I resisted the urge, returning paper and pen to my purse, yet retaining Kleenex.

    Instead I focused on enjoying the story.

    So, make plans.

    Find a friend and take in this picture show.

    Get to know Margaret Hilda Roberts Thatcher.

    Look for my favorite scene – the one in the doctor’s office where… 

    Ignoring infirmities Lady Thatcher demonstrates remarkable clarity of mind and body for her physician when she explains that feelings are not what’s important ~

    Watch your thoughts for they become words.
    Watch your words for they become actions.
    Watch your actions for they become…habits.
    Watch your habits, for they become your character.
    And watch your character, for it becomes your destiny!
    What we think we become.

    My father always said that…

    and I think I am fine.

     

    I agree!