April 26, 2013

  • Fine Art Friday:Melvin

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Meet Professor Clyde Kilby*.

    I never had the opportunity, but this portrait painted by my college friend, Deborah Melvin Beisner, makes me feel like Professor Kilby is talking with me.

    In fact, he came up in my Facebook feed this week.  Actually, it was a photo of this portrait.  It was linked to John Piper’s reference to some of Professor Kilby’s wisdom. Then while reading a friend’s blog (Soli Deo Gloria), lo and behold, Kilby surfaces again. 

    Kilby’s challenge to help us all see clearly dovetails delightfully into the online book club discussion I am enjoying with Cindy Rollins at Ordo-Amoris and lots of virtual friends.   In honor of Edith Schaeffer’s recent death at age 98, we are reading and blogging through her treatise, The Hidden Art of Homemaking, an obvious favorite of mine since it is the inspiration and moniker for my two blogs.

    One commenter wondered why we are saddled with so many preconceived notions of art.  I propose that the Biblical story of the Tower of Babel explains our confusion. Thankfully, Mrs. Schaeffer rightly defines art at the beginning of the book, establishing the LORD God as the First Artist.  Here’s a link to my synopsis of the first chapter.

    Look and see what He has done.  Creation (the world) is right here in front of our noses.  Dont miss it.  

    Join the group and be inspired to represent His Image faithfully.

     

     

    *Dr. Clyde S. Kilby, oil, 1987, in the collection of The Marion E. Wade Center, Wheaton College, 32″ x 35″

     

     

Comments (3)

  • I am happy you posted again. I can see that we could post and post and post. Today I am so thankful for rain. It gives me a day off from baseball. I am hoping to finish a library book and watch something British. Also mop the floor. Something is sticking.

    I will now be keeping my ears open for references to Dr. Kilby.

  • i’m looking forward to reading your posts! thanks for linking to them!! :)

  • Thank you for sharing this portrait, Dana. What perfect timing. I love how God weaves together our thoughts and conversations and points us all back to Him.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *