September 21, 2007

  • Fine Art Friday:Modern

    window-screen

    Just for looks, I'm placing this image here.

     

    Mixed Media on Window Screen

    By Mary Leyman Cover
    1907 - 1994

    Driving from GA to MI last week (on our way to Hillsdale College), DH and I made a short detour off I-75 into Springfield, OH.  The purpose was to visit their museum and view the exhibit Legacy: A Tradition Lives On.  The exhibit travels to Toledo next and returns to its home in Maryland by year end. 

    It was worth the extra time because I saw in person some outstanding work by living artists (Daniel Graves), discovered a modern artist I like (Mary Cover), and acquired a beautiful orange scarf for my winter wardrobe.

    Cant seem to find an image right now - will keep looking.

    Oh well :(

    Update:   You would think I would just choose another artist, but no....I will use this entry as a reminder to keep looking for this artist's work.  I did not like her paintings; there is one entitled *The Sea* in the exhibit *Beyond the Academy*.  But I was taken with her use of a discarded window screen covered entirely with oil, fabric, and whatever to create striking geometric images.  They would be ideal for a rec room, child's bedroom, or playroom.

    Additional Update:  Spent several hours looking at images of painted window screens yesterday afternoon.  While I found an interesting site about the popularity of this folk art, especially in Baltimore, the paintings did not compare with what I saw in Mrs. Cover's work.

    Has anyone seen this craft?

    Seems fun for a beach house or cottage, where they are actually used functionally.  I was thinking Mrs. Cover's artwork would hang on a wall.